Last updated 20 October 2003

Primary School Chess Congress 2003

The Annual Worcestershire Primary Junior Championships were held at Lyppard Community Centre, Worcester on Saturday, 18 October 2003. A total of 13 children from 9 Worcestershire Schools took part in this event organised for the 7th year running by Arnold Kirkland (Droitwich Chess Club). Arnold was ably assisted by Bob Fox (Worcester City Chess Club) and parents. The Lyppard Community Centre venue allowed spectators and parents to see moves of all the games.

Primary 5/6
Primary 3/4
First: Claire Blakeway (Tenbury Primary) 6 points
Second: Peter Brankin (Burlish Middle School) 5 points
Third: Jacob Weller (Hagley Middle School) 4 points
Joint First: Jake Griffiths (Northleigh Primary C E) and Eliot Swift (Ashton-under-Hill 1st School) both with 3 points
Also played:
Sophia Haywood (St Georges C E Primary) 3; Jack Capel - Shyu (Abbey Park Middle School) 3; Robert Maddison (St Georges R C Primary 3; Jack Riley (Abbey Park Middle School) 3; Luke Crocker (St Joseph's R C Malvern) 2.5; Ben Davidson (Kempsey Primary) 2.5; Elliot Rees (Kempsey Primary) 2.5; Sam Riley (Abbey Park Middle School) 1.5.


Visit the 2002 page for the previous year's results.