Worcester City Chess Club
City Chess
More About
the Club
Last updated 25 September 2019

Major Club Trophies

Internal Tournaments & Trophies

These are organised by the Competitions Secretary, Andrew Farthing. In the 2019-20 season, the club plans a single-evening, Blitz event and there are two tournaments played September and March: the Championship - standard play and the Rapidplay championship.

The Blitz Tournament. Now played with incremental time controls of 3 minutes plus 2 seconds for each move. New member Matthew Holmes won the 2019 event and now holds the Knight Trophy.

A Variant Chess Tournament has often been organised just before Christmas since its introduction by former President Roger Nall. The event is anarchic at the best of times and accompanied by mince pies and sometimes suchi. In 2009, Peter Kitson showed us Imitator Chess and in 2016, organiser Andrew Farthing introduced tricky chess puzzles. In 2017 we had to identify films with chess scenes.

Club Championship. All club members who are also members of the English Chess Federation (ECF) are eligible. The competition runs in two stages. There is a pleminary all-play-all stage played until nearly Easter where players can play as many opponents as they wish up to two times. In the finals, the four highest scoring players play a knock out semi-finals, the winners of which play for the championship in the final. Read More ...

Rapidplay Championship. In this tournament, the time controls are 25 minutes plus an increment of 10 second from move 1. This tournament is for ECF members who need to leave early or who arrive late. Like the club championship, the first stage is an all-play-all where players can play up to two games against the same opponent. The second stage is a knock-out for the four highest scoring players in the all-play-all stage.. Read More ...

In previous years, the club has run a Lightning Tournament. In this version of the game, players must move when a buzzer sounds every 10 seconds and if a king is left in check it may be captured to end the game! Unlike the Five-Minute game, no move must take longer than 10 seconds. Steve Mellor won the 2011 competition to complete a speed double.. Read More ...

Championship Knock Out
Rapidplay Rules Back to