WCL Home Published 26 August 2012 Worcs Chess

2011-12 season: Halesowen win both Divisions

11 May. With the results in from the two adjourned games from the last Division II match now in, Halesowen II win that division along with their win in Division 1. Since 1920 when two divisions have been run, Halesowen has now achieved this double distinction 6 times, the last in 2001-2. Five other clubs have achieved the double: College for the Blind, Stourbridge, and Worcester City - three times each; Lye and St James once each.

24 Apr.Stewart Fishburne reports that in division 2, Halesowen lead Kidderminster in last night's match by 2-1 and Halesowen are hoping for the double.

3 April. Halesowen I crushed Worcester City to take the league championship with two matches to spare.

9 Apr. In Division II, Three teams are on 7 match ponts and in with a shout to take the Division II title.

4 Apr. Halesowen are League champions with two matches to spare.

23 Dec. At the end of the first half of the season in Division I, it looks a two-horse race with Halesowen I ahead of Worcester City. In Division II, Headless Cross lead from Greenlands, but the latter have a match in hand.

4 Dec. The draw for the Wheatly Cup is published. A new team Shirley & Wythall has entered this year. Use the menu button on the left to see more.

10 Nov. In Division I, eight matches have been played and three teams share the lead. An exciting league title chase is in prospect. In Division II, five matches have been played. Droitwich lead, and all teams have at least one match point.

22 Sep. The first match result is in. Use "Division I" menu button for more.

21 Sep. The first league match has been played. Use "Division II" menu button for more.

24 Aug. The Fixtures meeting was held on 23 August. Redditch accepted promotion to Division I and Kedderminster was permitted to remain. This results in 6 teams competing in Division I and 5 in Division II. Division I teams are Hagley, Halesowen I, Kidderminster I, Malvern, Redditch and Worcester City. Division II teams are Droitwich & St John's, Greenlands, Halesowen II, Headless Cross, and Kidderminster II. In both divisions, teams play home and away. Fixtures will be posted as soon as they become available from club secretaries and team captains. At the preceding Executive Committee of the County Association, a change to league rule 6 was confirmed. See league rules.

7 Aug. The fixtures meeting was scheduled for the end of August and the first matches are likely to be played in mid-September. Division One teams will likely be Hagley, Halesowen I, Kidderminster I, Malvern, and Worcester City. Redditch were eligible for promotion from Division 2. Division Two teams were likely to be Droitwich, Greenlands, Halesowen II, Headless Cross, and Kidderminster II.