WDCL Home Last updated 5 March 2020 Worcs Chess

2019-20 Season Division 1

All OTB games suspended owing to Coronavirus epidemic.
See home page

Team captains please notify results to Competitions Secretary and Grader Paul Sharratt (07515 688 795) and to the webmaster.

Worcester & District Chess League 2019-20
Division 1
Played Won Drawn Lost For Against Games won Match points Position
Redditch 1A 5 3 2 0 12½ 10 7  
Kidderminster Knights 4 2 1 1 5 5  
Greenlands 3 2 0 1 7 4  
Malvern 4 1 1 2 8 8 4 3  
Stourbridge A 3 1 0 2 6 6 5 2  
Worcester Bishops 3 1 0 2 4 8 3 2  
Redditch 1B 2 0 0 2 1 0  
*

28 Feb. Malvern draw against Redditch A
11 Feb. A busy night for Redditch with two matches. Their A team beat Worcester Bishops and become clear league leaders, but their B team suffered a whitewash from a super-graded Greenlands team.
31 Jan. Worcester travelled to Malvern and registered their first win.
21 Jan. Greenlands with one of the strongest teams ever to have played in this league unhorsed Kidderminster Knights.
15 Jan. Kidderminster Knights celebrate 2020 with a win over Stourbridge.
3 Dec. Malvern beat Greenlands and now that all teams have played at least one match, Redditch 1A are well ahead.
3 Dec. Redditch A forge further ahead with a win against colleagues in the Redditch B team.
28 Nov. Stourbridge beat Worcester Bishops.
20 Nov. Kidderminster Knights beat Malvern
6 Nov. Redditch 1A and Kidderminster Knights draw.
22 Oct. First match result in Div 1: Redditch 1A beat Stourbridge.
18 Sep. Dates have now been agreed for all fixtures in Div 1.
5 Sep. League Annual Meeting. Kidderminster Rooks took relegation and the seven teams decided to play a single round only.

Worcester & District Chess League 2019-20 Division 1 Fixtures List
2019 dates Fixture Match Score
Tue 22 Oct Redditch 1A - Stourbridge 2½ - 1½
Wed 6 Nov Kidderminster Knights - Redditch 1A 2 - 2
Wed 20 Nov Kidderminster Knights - Malvern 2½ - 1½
Thu 28 Nov Worcester Bishops - Stourbridge 1 - 3
Tue 3 Dec Greenlands - Malvern 1 - 3
Tue 3 Dec Redditch 1A - Redditch 1B 2½ - 1½
2020 dates    
Wed 15 Jan Stourbridge - Kidderminster Knights 1½ - 2½
Tue 21 Jan Greenlands - Kidderminster Knights 3½ - ½
Fri 31 Jan Malvern - Worcester Bishops 1½ - 2½
Tue 11 Feb Redditch 1A - Worcester Bishops 3½ - ½
Tue 11 Feb Redditch 1B - Greenlands 0 - 4
Fri 28 Feb Malvern - Redditch 1A 2 - 2
Thu 19 Mar Worcester Bishops - Redditch 1B  
Mon 23 Mar Kidderminster Knights - Worcester Bishops  
Tue 31 Mar Redditch 1B - Malvern  
Thu 2 Apr Worcester Bishops - Greenlands  
Mon 6 Apr Stourbridge - Greenlands  
Wed 8 Apr Stourbridge - Redditch 1B  
12 Apr Easter Sunday  
Tue 14 Apr Redditch 1B - Kidderminster Knights  
Tue 28 Apr Greenlands - Redditch 1A  
Fri 1 May Malvern - Stourbridge  
*

Club secretaries and team captains

Please let the webmaster know of alterations.

  • Greenlands: Secy, Steve Crees, 07932 860524; Captn, Stephen Woodhouse, 0121 445 6167
  • Kidderminster Knights: Secy David Waud 01562 228600 or 07889 508656, Captn Dave Spowart 07913 647 922
  • Malvern: Secy Brian Turner, 01684 568 398; Captn John Knee 01684 565 378
  • Redditch 1A: Secy, Michele Clack 01527 452 967, Capn, Dan Lambourne 07985 473 174
  • Redditch 1B: Secy Michele Clack 01527 452 967, Captn Harry Evans
  • Stourbridge A: Secy David Scriven 01384 423 642, Captn Paul Sharratt 07515 688 795
  • Worcester Bishops: Secy & Captn, Ray Collett 01905 454 754