WDCL Home Last updated 6 February 2019 Worcs Chess

2018-9 Division 2: Eight teams play a single round

Droitwich meet on a different night: Wednesdays at the same venue as last year.
Redditch have a new venue at Alvechurch and continue to meet on Tuesdays.

Team captains please notify results to Competitions Secretary and Controller Paul Sharratt (07515 688 795) and to the webmaster.

Redditch B ahead of Kidderminster Pawns

Worcester & District Chess League 2018-9
Division 2
Played Won Drawn Lost For Against Won
games
Match points Position
Redditch B 5 3 2 0 13½ 10 8 1
Kidderminster Pawns 5 2 3 0 8 7  
Worcester Pawns 5 1 2 2 11½ 6 4  
Kidderminster Rooks 4 1 2 1 7 9 5 4  
Greenlands 4 1 1 2 7 13 5 3  
Stourbridge B 4 2 0 3 5 2  
Droitwich 4 0 2 2 7 9 4 2  
Mercia 1 1 0 0 3 1 3 2  
*

6 Feb. Kidderminster Pawns beat Droitwich to get within one point of leaders Redditch.
15 Jan. Mercia in a late start to their Worcester & District League season get off to a fine win against Stourbridge.
7 Jan. Greenlands lift themselves up the table with a win against Stourbridge.
13 Dec. Kidderminster Pawns leap to second place by beating Stourbridge.
4 Dec. Droitwich draw away to Redditch to lift their team off the bottom.
28 Nov. Droitwich draw at home against Worcester Pawns.
15 Nov. Stourbridge join the battle with a win at Worcester
14Nov. Kidderminster Rooks gain their first match win with victory over Droitwich.
7 Nov. Kidderminster Pawns earn another draw this time against against Redditch B to go into second slot.
6 Nov. Kidderminster Rooks go down to Redditch B.
25 Oct. The Pawns' Worcester versus Kidderminster encounter resulted in a draw.
24 Oct. Kidderminster Rooks drew with Greenlands.
9 Oct. Worcester Pawns beat Greenlands
3 Oct. The local Derby Kidderminster Pawns against Rooks was drawn.
26 Sep. First result in the division is a home win for reigning champions Redditch B
30 Aug. At the annual meeting, Redditch B were unable to accept promotion and remain in Division 2.

Worcester & District Chess League 2018-9 Division 2 Fixtures List
Date 2018   Match Score
Tue 25 Sep Redditch B - Worcester Pawns 3 - 1
Wed 3 Oct Kidderminster Rooks - Kidderminster Pawns 2 - 2
Tue 9 Oct Greenlands - Worcester Pawns 1½ - 2½
Tue 16 Oct Greenlands - Redditch B 1 - 3
Wed 24 Oct Kidderminster Rooks - Greenlands 2 - 2
Thu 25 Oct Worcester Pawns - Kidderminster Pawns 2 - 2
Tue 6 Nov Redditch B - Kidderminster Rooks 3½ - ½
Wed 7 Nov Kidderminster Pawns - Redditch B 2 - 2
Wed 14 Nov Droitwich - Kidderminster Rooks 1½ - 2½
Thu 15 Nov Worcester Pawns - Stourbridge 1 - 3
Wed 28 Nov Droitwich - Worcester Pawns 2 - 2
Tue 4 Dec Redditch B - Droitwich 2 - 2
Wed 12 Dec Stourbridge B - Kidderminster Pawns 1 - 3
(Thu 13 Dec) Worcester Pawns - Mercia (new date awaited) P - P
     
2019 Dates Christmas and New year  
Mon 7 Jan Stourbridge B - Greenlands 1½ - 2½
Tue 15 Jan Mercia - Stourbridge B 3 - 1
Wed 6 Feb Kidderminster Pawns - Droitwich 2½ - 1½
Tue 19 Feb Mercia - Kidderminster Rooks  
Wed 27 Feb Droitwich - Mercia  
Wed 27 Feb Kidderminster Rooks - Worcester Pawns  
Wed 6 Mar Stourbridge B - Redditch B  
Tue 12 Mar Greenlands - Kidderminster Pawns  
Wed 20 Mar Droitwich - Stourbridge B  
Wed 27 Mar Kidderminster Pawns - Mercia  
Wed 10 Apr Stourbridge B - Kidderminster Rooks  
Tue 16 Apr Redditch B - Mercia  
Tue 16 Apr Greenlands - Droitwich  
     
19-22 Apr Easter  
Tue 23 Apr Mercia - Greenlands  
     
*

Team captains and club secretaries

  • Droitwich: Secy & Captn, Arnold Kirkland 01905 773 812
  • Greenlands: Secy Steve Crees 07932 860 524; Captn Andy Tipper 07794 703 445
  • Kidderminster Pawns: David Waud 01562 228 600 or 07889 508 656; Captain Mike Kitchen 01299 879 448
  • Kidderminster Rooks; David Waud 01562 228 600 or 07889 508 656; Captain, Terry Pountney 01562 861 360
  • Mercia: Secy : Peter Thompson 01902 765 870; Capn Kevan Ward 07752 064 010
  • Redditch B: Secy, Ian Clack 01527 452 967
  • Stourbridge: Secy Dave Scriven, Capn Paul Sharratt 07515 688 795
  • Worcester Pawns. Secy Ray Collett, 01905 454 754; Captain Roger Yates 01905 358 816

For other contact details use left hand menu "Clubs & Teams"

Click here for the league competition rules.

Use left hand menu for last season's results.