WDCL Home   Worcs Chess


Words in brown are hyperlinks to congress website, pdf entry form or contact’s e-mail.

  • Sat 30 Nov & Sun 1 Dec. Hereford Chess Congress at The Green Dragon Hotel, Broad Street Hereford HR4 9BG. Three five-round seeded Swiss tournaments: u175,u145 and u120.

League News

7 Oct. First match result of the season is in
17 Sep. Fixtures lists as far as currently arranged are published.
5 Sep. Annual Meeting approves incremental time control and changes to nominated team player lists. Revised league rules are here. Redditch made proposals designed to make team selection more flexible to allow clubs to enter more teams. Revised arrangements that allow some players to play for different teams in the same division were approved and the draft revised league rules - still subject to final approval from clubs - are here. The treasurer recommended affiliation fees and team entry fees should remain unchanged for 2019-20, but some increase will be likely for the 2020-1 season..

League structure. Kidderminster were unable to sustain two division 1 teams this season and Worcester could only sustain single round play if they entered division 1. The make up of the league for 2019-20 is

  • Division 1: Greenlands, Kidderminster Knights, Malvern, Redditch A, Redditch B, Stourbridge, Worcester Bishops
  • Division 2: Droitwich, Greenlands, Kidderminster Pawns, Kidderminster Rooks, Mercia, Redditch, Stourbridge, Worcester Pawns

Time Control. A proposal to move to incremental time control as the default position was adopted. The time default control is 80 minutes for the game plus an increment of 10 seconds from move 1.

Election of officers. There were no changes from last year and the list of officers is shown here.

Presentation of trophies. The final of the Bennett Cup between Lee Davis (Malvern) and Ray Collett (Worcester) is still to be played and presentations were made to Dan Lambourne (Capt Redditch A, League Champions), Ian Clack (Captain Redditch B, Div 2 Champions and Ray Collett (Worcester, Ball Cup).

District League awards winners 2019
Pictures: Michele Clack

9 Aug. Collett wins Ball Cup. Malvern hosted the showdown for this competition with Brian Turner acting as Arbiter. Brian in his controller's report wrote: "John had the advantage in the early part of the game, but Ray defended strongly and eventually won a well-played ending with bishops of opposite colours".
8 Jun. In the Bennett Cup individual competition, Lee Davis (Malvern) was first and plays a two-game match with Ray Collett (Woprcester) in the final for the cup.

For older news click the W&D News button on the left.