Worcs Chess Assoc Logo

Worcester Open Chess Congress

Worcs Chess Congress Home

2012 Winners

Richard Jones receives the Worcestershire Open Trophy from Andrew Farthing

Open winner Richard Jones (left) with the Worcester Open
Trophy and organiser, Andrew Farthing

Jerry Hendy 1st in the MajorAndrew Price receives his shared second prize in the Major
Winners in the Major tournament Pictures:: Ray Collet
Tricia Cavell, Director Fundraising, St Richard's Hospice standing on the right presents prizes
Left: Jerry Hendy Major 1st prize Right: Andrew Price Major 2nd prize.


The winner of the Open section was Richard Jones (Nidum, Neath) with 5 from 5 games. There was a three-way tie for second place between Pavel Besedin (Worcester City), Chris Briscoe (Surbiton), Martin Cutmore (Wood Green) all on 4 points. Grading prize (166-180): John Jarmany (Cockermouth) 3 points. Grading prize (165 or lower): Ian Ponter (Downend, Bristol) 3½ points

Major (under-160)

First was Jerry Hendy (Combined Services Chess Assoc) on 4½ points. Second was Andrew Price (Leamington) on 4 points and third place was shared by Richard Desmedt (Wombwell), John Knee (Malvern), Nigel Towers (Redditch); and Ian Truscott (Greenlands) on 3½ points. Grading prize (141-150): John Knee. Grading prize (140 or lower): Ian Truscott. The Junior prize was shared by brothers James and Joseph Friar (both Hagley) on 3 points

Stephen Katona (left) receives his first prize in the IntermediateRichard Leaper (left) receives his shared 2nd prize in the Intermediate
James Evans, Junior PrizeRhys Bennett receives his shared second prize in the Intermediate
Winners in the Intermediate tournament Pictures: Ray Collett
Tricia Cavell, Director Fundraising, St Richard's Hospice standing on the right presents prizes to
Top left: Stephen Katona (left) 1st prize. Top right, Richard Leaper shared 2nd prize.
Right: James Evans Junior Prize. Right: Rhys Bennett shared second prize

Intermediate (under-135)

Stephen Katona (Hereford) won with 4 points. There was a six-way tie for a share of the second prize: Rhys Bennett (Newport), Raymond Hunt (Bognor), Richard Leaper (Westminster, Birmingham), Roger Walker (Belper), Dan Waller and Brian Woodard (Isle of Man) all on 3½ points. Brian also won a grading prize. The junior prize in this tournament was won by James Evans (Upper Killay) on 2½ points.

Steve Crockett (left), winner of the Minor with Andrew FarthingIrina Amelkina shared 2nd prizeCharlie McLaren receives his 2-4th prizeLee Bullock receives his shared 2nd prize in the Minor
Minor Tournament winners Pictures: Ray Collett
Far left: Stephen Crockett (left) congratulated for his first place by organiser Andrew Farthing.
Centre left, centre right and right: Tricia Cavell standing on the right.with winners of shared second prize:
Centre left: Irina Amelkina; Centre right Charlie McLaren Far right: Lee Bullock

Minor (under-115)

Steve Crockett (Redditch) won with 4½ points. Second placed were: Irina Amelkina (Redditch), Lee Bullock (Hackney/Coulsdon), Charlie McLaren (Cheltenham Musketeers), and Rob Sutton (Worcester City) on 4 points. Lee Bullock also won the 93-105 grading prize and Sam Beardmore (Cheddleton & Leek) the grading prize for players under 104. Felicity Parker (King Edward VI Sch, Fiveways, Birmingham) won the Junior prize.