WDCL Home Updated 21 October 2019 Worcs Chess

Lee Davis wins 2018-9 Bennett Cup

Davis wins Finals

10 and 17 Oct. Both games were played at Worcester. Ray Collett had white in the first game. The finalists drew the first game after most pieces had been exchanged early. In the second game, Collett miscalculated some exchanges in the middle game and lost a pawn. Further exchanges of rooks left a multi-pawn + queen ending and Collett defended stoutly until missing a continuation that should have nearly equalised. Lee Davis (Malvern) has now won the Bennett Cup five times.

Davis and Collett play in final

May. In his last game, Lee Davis (Malvern) secured a draw by threefold repetition after being outplayed by Ian Clarke (Malvern) to finish first in the preliminary stage competition. Lee Davis and Ray Collett (Worcester), who finished second on, 2 points play a two-game final.

2018-9 entries

28 Feb Update: Will Kemp has decided to withdraw from the Bennett Cup competition because of changed circumstances.
There are six entries for the competition this year includin one player new to the league from Worcester. Brian Turner (Malvern) has stepped up to fill the vacancy for the controller of this competition

Introduction to the competition

The Alderman Bennett Cup presented to the league in 1950 to be awarded to the best individual player in the league. It therefore complements the team trophies presented to the winners of divisions 1 and 2. The current holder of the cup is Lee Davis (Malvern). Visit the Bennett Cup honours roll for a complete list of champions.


The players placed first and second in the five-round all-play-all preliminary stage will play a two-game final for the Bennett Cup. Games in the the preliminary competition should be completed by 31 March 2019.

Player Club Grade LD BT IC RC JV Totals
Lee Davis Malvern 177   ½ ½ ½ 1
Brian Turner Malvern 170 ½   ½ 0 1 2
Ian Clarke Malvern 157 ½ ½   0 ½
Ray Collett Worcester 147 ½ 1 1   b
John Varilone Kidderminster 121 0 0 ½ w   ½