WDCL Home Last updated 20 September 2017 Worcs Chess

2016-7 Season News

May 2017. Ian Clarke won the Bennett Cup and Matthew Jordan the Ball Cup.

April 2017. Worcester Bishops were league Champions and Stourbridge again won Division 2.

League News

26 Apr. Stourbridge win Division 2 championship again with Worcester Pawns runners-up.

26 Apr. Worcester Bishops win League Championship with Mlavern runners-up.

1 Jan. Redditch A lead Division 1 and Worcester Pawns Division 2 at the start of the new year.

8 Sep. League Annual meeting and presentations.Last year's Division 2 champions did not seek promotion and Division 1 has five teams who play each other home and away. Seven teams, the same as last season, enter Division 2 playing a single fixture against each other. In 2016-7 the individual competitions for the Bennett and Ball Cups will be organised as last year with a closing date for entries on 8 October 2016. Affiliation fees for clubs and entry fees for teams were set at £3 each, but as in previous years, entry to the individual competitions remains free for members of affiliated clubs. There were insufficient teams willing to enter the team knock-out tournament and it was reluctantly decided it would not run in 2016-7. The league agreed to adopt the Worcestershire Chess Association's policy on safeguarding and Paul Sharratt has agreed to be the designated officer. The meeting was held on Thursday 8 September at St Stephen's Church Hall, Worcester.

For older news click the 2015-6 season menu button on the left.